‘Never, ever seen that before’ – Pieters bizarrely gets free drop after claiming he never meant to hit shocking putt

‘Never, ever seen that before’ – Pieters bizarrely gets free drop after claiming he never meant to hit shocking putt

THOMAS PIETERS was bizarrely given a free drop after claiming he was distracted when trying to putt.

The 30-year-old Belgian was playing the third alongside Ewen Ferguson and Victor Perez at the Cazoo Open de France on Friday.

Pieters went to putt but made a mess of it
Pieters went to putt but made a mess of itCredit: Twitter / @SkySportsGolf
The Belgian claimed he was distracted by noise coming from the crowd
The Belgian claimed he was distracted by noise coming from the crowdCredit: Twitter / @SkySportsGolf
Pieters was then given a free drop
Pieters was then given a free dropCredit: Twitter / @SkySportsGolf
The 30-year-old split opinion on social media
The 30-year-old split opinion on social mediaCredit: Twitter / @SkySportsGolf

As Pieters began his stroke on his 35-foot birdie putt, a crying child is said to have distracted him.

And despite attempting to stop he was unable to prevent contact with the ball.

Pieters explained to officials he attempted to stop – which they agreed with.

And so they let the former Ryder Cup star replace his ball and retake his putt.

READ MORE IN SPORT

PartyCasino offer: How to claim an incredible 120 FREE SPINS on Starburst
Spiranac slams fat-shamers and declares she is the 'happiest she's ever been'

One of Sky Sport’s commentators said: “Never, ever seen that before!”

Officials applied Rule 13d of the Rules of Golf.

The rule is applied to accidents causing a ball or ball marker to move on the green.

It states: “There is no penalty if the player, opponent or another player in stroke play accidentally moves the player’s ball or ball-marker on the putting green.”

Most read in Football

CASINO SPECIAL – BEST NEW CUSTOMER SIGN UP DEALS

As a result, the ball should be replaced and played from its original spot.

However, the call to allow Pieters to retake his putt has been criticised on social media.

One viewer fumed: “That is a ridiculous ruling. And could open the door to all sorts of ‘I wanted to stop but didn’t’ claims.

Read More on The Sun

I work in Wetherspoons and here are the pub's secrets… including 'frozen' fry ups
I accidentally named my twins after TV characters - I’m so embarrassed

“If you address the ball, take the club back and hit the ball, surely it’s a stroke?!”

Another said: “I think he definitely tried to pull back and stop his motion…but a very grey area…that’s an interesting call to make.”

https://www.thesun.co.uk/feed/

Joshua Mbu

Leave a Reply