ITALIAN seventh division side ASD Noicattaro had every right to feel aggrieved after the referee awarded an astonishing goal against them.
Facing off against Castellana 1928, a cross was squared across the box from the right-hand side.
An attacking player then made contact with the football at the far post.
However, they saw their effort fly into the SIDE netting and bounce clearly away from the goal – a blatant miss to many.
But Noicattaro players were left fuming as the ref somehow awarded a goal.
Castellana wheeled off in celebration while the home side surrounded the referee to voice their protests at the “terrible decision”.
READ MORE IN FOOTBALL
Fans online picked up on the incident but chose to highlight the celebrations of the visitors.
Taking to Reddit, one user said: “The audacity to celebrate that, no idea what the ref saw as well.
“Even if it looked in from his angle, I can’t understand how he’d still think it was a goal after he saw the ball bouncing away.”
A second user remarked: “The ref must’ve known he was wrong when the player who took the shot doesn’t celebrate and he has an entire team in his face saying it didn’t go in.”
Most read in Football
A third scoffed: “I can’t even imagine having the audacity to celebrate.”
A fourth added: “At nil all, celebrating this s*** is way too disrespectful.”
“What losers to celebrate and try to get credit for that ‘goal’. Embarrassing,” said another user.
Taking to their Instagram page, an outraged ASD Noicattaro added their visceral reaction.
They shared a post of the goal alongside the caption: “VOMIT.
LOOK HOW WE LOST TODAY 1-0 AGAINST CASTELLANA.”